Achievement Standards

About Subject Areas

NZQA Website

On this page

  • About Subject Area
  • Subject Area standards
  • Exemplars, reports, past exams and assessment schedules
  • Useful exam information
  • Assessment specifications
  • Assessor support materials for internal assessment
  • More resources
  • Tools

Unit and Skills Standards and Vocational Education

Workforce Development Councils

Workforce Development Councils (WDCs)
Workforce Development Councils (WDCs) ensure the vocational education system meets industry needs and gives a stronger voice to Māori business and iwi development. There are six WDCs and their responsibilities include setting standards, developing qualifications and helping shape the curriculum of vocational education.

For those teaching the following subjects, we’d recommend you should look at.

  • Hospitality - Ringa Hora
  • Building, Construction, BCATs - Waihanga
    Ara Rau
  • Computing - Toi Mai
  • Metal Technology and Engineering,
    Competenz - Hanga Aro Rau
Waihanga Ara Rau - Construction and Infrastructure

Represents industries including Construction, Concrete, Plumbing, Infrastructure, Water, Gas, Electricity, Telecommunication, and Roading.

Toi Mai

Represents industries including Creative, Technology, Entertainment, Hairdressing and Barbering, Makeup Artistry, Skincare, Journalism, Radio and Television Broadcasting, Gambling, and Sports & Recreation.

Toitū te Waiora - Community, Health, Education and Social Services

Represents industries including Care Services, Disability Services, Education and Education Support Services, Funeral Services, Health Services, Public Order Safety, Regulatory Services, Skin and Nail Therapy Services, Social Services, and Urban Pest Control.

Ringa Hora - Services

Represents industries including Advisory Services, Aviation, Cleaning Services, Business Services, Contact Centres, Financial Services, Hospitality, Local Government, Real Estate, Retail, Security Services, State Sector, Tourism, and Travel.

Hanga-Aro-Rau - Manufacturing, Engineering, and Logistics

Represents industries including Manufacturing, Processing, Extractives and Drilling, Transport, Postal, and Warehousing.

Muka Tangata - People, Food, and Fibre

Represents industries including Dairy, Sheep and Beef, Other Livestock, Arable, Horticulture, Fishing, Seafood Processing, Winemaking, Aquaculture, Livestock Farming, Sports Turf Management, and Forestry.

Centres of Vocational Excellence (CoVEs)

Centres of Vocational Excellence (CoVEs)

Centres of Vocational Excellence (CoVEs) play a significant role in driving innovation and excellence in vocational education. They do this by strengthening links with industry and communities.

Each CoVE addresses specific issues and opportunities and operates as part of the vocational education system, working closely with Workforce Development Councils, Regional Skills Leadership Groups and Te Pūkenga. The Government has allocated $5 million of funding a year, for up to five years, for the two CoVEs.

CoVEs are intended to be an enduring part of the vocational education system, but their purpose, deliverables and membership may change over time. The Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) makes sure each CoVE is a genuine centre of excellence, bringing together the right people to identify opportunities, solve problems and drive innovation.

Food and Fibre CoVE

Food and Fibre CoVE is an initiative of the Food and Fibre Centre of Vocational Excellence Society Incorporated. Members of the Society include industry peak bodies, employers and training providers from the food and fibre sector.


ConCOVE connects and aligns industry, learners and vocational education to re-imagine clear, equitable and supported career pathways within the Construction and Infrastructure sector.

General NCEA Information

TENZ NCEA Blog Posts

Ministry of Education Support workshops for Level 1 subjects and wāhanga ako 2024

A series of weekly online workshops for each subject and wāhanga ako will be starting the week of 12 February. Most workshops will have a focus on introducing the new Subject Learning Outcomes or Ngā Putanga Ako, and how to use them in planning a teaching and learning programme.

Workshops for Design and Visual Communication, Materials and Processing Technology, and Digital Technologies will be led predominantly by our NCEA Implementation Facilitators in partnership with subject associations (ie. TENZ).

Workshops for Te Marautanga o Aotearoa wāhanga ako will be led by our Kura Māori Implementation Team.

Week Design and Visual
Digital Technologies Materials and Processing
Feb 12-16 Wed 14th Feb 3:15pm Thur 15th Feb 3:15pm Wed 14th Feb 2:15pm
Feb 19-23 Wed 21st Feb 2:15pm Thur 22nd Feb 3:15pm Wed 21st Feb 3:15pm
Feb 26-Mar 1 Wed 28th Feb 3:15pm Thur 29th Feb 3:15pm Wed 28th Feb 2:15pm
Mar 4-8 Mon 4th Mar 2:15pm Thur 7th Mar 3:15pm Mon 4th Mar 3:15pm
Mar 11-15 Wed 13th Mar 3:15pm Thur 14th 3:15pm Wed 13th Mar 2:15pm
Mar 18-22 Thur 21st Mar 2:15pm Tue 19th Mar 3:15pm Thur 21st Mar 3:15pm
Mar 25-29 Thur 28th Mar 3:15pm Tue 26th Mar 3:15pm Thur 28th Mar 2:15pm

Click here to book the workshops and for more information

NCEA Subject Learning Outcomes & Teacher Guides Released

New subject learning outcomes have been published on the NCEA website.  You will find them on the Learning Tab for Design and Visual Communication, Materials and Processing Technology and Digital Technology.  Alongside this is the NCEA Teacher guide which has been developed to support Kaiako to deliver NCEA Level 1.