National Technology Education Awards

The Technology Education New Zealand Council with the support of Engineering New Zealand has instituted a set of national awards to provide professional recognition of excellence in technology education.

Awards are made every two years based on nominations made to the TENZ Council by TENZ members. Nominations are considered by a sub-committee of the Council and awards are presented at the biennial TENZ conference.

If you would like to nominate someone for an award, please first review each of the award types below and their criteria and then complete and send in a nomination form which you can download here - Award Nomination Form.

Subject Leadership in Technology Education

This award recognises excellence in subject leadership. It is made for a significant contribution over an extended time in developing technology education programmes in a school, centre, or other organisation and achieving consistently high standards of performance from students.

2019Julie Andersaon, Kirkwood Intermediate, Christchurch
2017Steve Andrew, St John's College, Hamilton

Danial Gorman, Te Waka Technology Centre, Christchurch
2015Tricia Winter, Queen Charlotte College Picton
2011Julie McMahon, Columba College

Lorraine Stiles, Matamata Intermediate
2009Brian Allen, Correspondence School, Wellington

Ross Petersen, ETITO
2005Kay Collins, Marlborough Technology Centre
2003Grant Miles, Christchurch College of Education

Marion Douglas, Team Solutions Auckland


Outstanding Technology Teacher

This award is made to teachers who have displayed outstanding capability in teaching technology over an extended time. They may be a coordinator or Head of Department or those not holding such positions but consistently displaying excellence in their teaching practice.

2019Sarah Washbrooke, Remarkables Primary School, Queenstown
2017Bill Boyes, Tahuna Normal Intermediate, Dunedin
2015Ceri de Boo, Cashmere High School, Christchurch
2009Bill Collis, Mount Roskill Grammar School, Auckland

Jenny Baker, Hillcrest High School, Hamilton

Jo Clarke, St. Michael's Church School, Christchurch
2007Barbara Knight, Queen Margaret College, Wellington

Steve Andrew, St John’s College, Hamilton
2005Diana Eagle, Tararua College, Pahiatua
2003Marilyn Daly, Rangikura Primary School, Porirua

Michael Jackson, Wanganui Girls' College

Carol Rimmer, Havelock North High School

Teacher Educator in Technology

This award is made to lecturers, advisors, facilitators, consultants or teachers for their service to teacher development work in technology. The category is for high quality work that has developed teacher understanding and confidence over a significant period of time in pre-service and/or in-service education.

2019Liz Reinsfield, University of Waikato, Hamilton

Mike Forret, iConcept Enterprises Ltd., Hamilton

Louise Milne, University of Waikato, Hamilton
2011Selina Hinchco, Team Solutions, University of Auckland

Moira Patterson, Faculty of Education, University of Auckland
2009Cheryl Pym, University of Otago, Dunedin

Paul Snape, Canterbury University, Christchurch
2007Dawn Coburn, College of Education, University of Otago
2005Kris Blewett, Faculty of Education, University of Auckland

Brent Mawson, Faculty of Education, University of Auckland

Outstanding Technology Education Researcher

This award is made to those who have made a significant contribution to research in technology education. The category is for high quality research that has improved our understanding of learning, teaching, assessment, curriculum development or some other important aspect of technology education that will enhance the development and practice of technology education.

2017Wendy Slatter, PhD Student, University of Auckland
2015Associate Professor Bev France, University of Auckland

Outstanding Contribution to Technology Education

This is the highest professional award made by Technology Education New Zealand. Those nominated may come from a school management, advisory, lecturing, teaching, research, curriculum development, administration or ‘industry’ background. Recipients will have given service to Technology over a long period of time and made an outstanding contribution, showing commitment and leadership.

2015Dr Wendy Fox-Turnbull, University of Canterbury, Christchurch
2013Professor Alister Jones, Waikato University, Hamilton
2011Dr Vicki Compton, UniServices, University of Auckland

Niall Dinning, National Co-ordinator for Technology Education

Glynn McGregor, Project Coordinator (Techlink)

2007Emeritus Professor Roy Geddes, University of Auckland and Auckland University of Technology

Peter Spratt, Manager of education programmes at the Royal Society of New Zealand

2005Cliff Harwood, Massey University College of Education