About TENZ

Technology Education New Zealand (TENZ) is a professional, collaborative network, promoting and supporting all levels of technology education in New Zealand. We work to maintain national and international links between those working in technology education and with the wider technological community.

Our aims are to:

  • foster the development of technology education in New Zealand
  • develop and maintain national and international links between those working in technology education and with the wider technological community
  • support professional, curriculum, and resource development in technology education
  • encourage and support research in technology education
  • organise a national, biennial technology education conference
  • work closely with other subject associations for mutual benefit of technology education.

Brief History

Technology Education New Zealand (TENZ) was established in 1996 to foster the development of technology education in New Zealand schools.

In 1997 Dr Alister Jones, now Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor of Waikato University, established the original TENZ Trust Board and in 2005 Alister initiated the change from Trust Board to a member-elected TENZ Council, of which Alister was the first chair.

In its early years, administrative and financial services were provided for TENZ by the Royal Society of New Zealand (RSNZ) and then, in 2006, TENZ moved its administrative base from the RSNZ to the Institute of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ) now, as of 2017, called Engineering New Zealand (ENZ).

TENZ is constituted as a Technical Interest Group (TIG) within ENZ who continue to provide administrative and financial services for the association and with whom we share goals for the ongoing development and promotion of technology education within New Zealand.


Have questions?



National Council

TENZ is managed by its National Council, members of which are elected by financial members of the association.

Council positions are for two years and two members of the council roll off every two years.
Information about the current TENZ Council can be found here - TENZ Council.

As a Technical Interest Group within Engineering New Zealand (ENZ), the association's administration and financial services are provided by ENZ.


There are six TENZ regions,

  1. Auckland and Northland
  2. Waikato (Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Gisborne)
  3. Central Districts (New Plymouth, Palmerston North, Wanganui, Hawkes Bay)
  4. Wellington (Wellington and Wairarapa);
  5. Northern South Island (Canterbury, West Coast, Nelson & Marlborough)
  6. Southern South Island (Otago, Southland, Fiordland).

Members are allocated to a region based on their postcode.

Each region has a regional chairperson and a regional committee.

Regional chairs liaise with the National Council through the Council's Regional Coordinator.


Anyone with an interest in technology education can join TENZ.

There are three types of membership:

Individual - A personal membership of TENZ

Institution - A corporate membership for a school or other organisation. Corporate membership can be for up to ten people within the institution.

Student - Student membership is available for students in their final year of teacher training. Student members will not be charged a subscription during this final year of training but, in the immediate year after beginning work as a teacher, are required to join as either an Individual Member, or within an Institutional membership.

For more details, and to join TENZ, use the button below.

to top button